VILLAGE OF LUDLOW ELECRIC LIGHT DEPARTMENT SPECIAL MEETING OF THE COMMISSIONERS Tuesday, September 12, 2023 11:00 A.M. BUSINESS OFFICE, 9 POND STREET

MINUTES

Present Commissioners: Chairman; Nicholas Baitz, Vice Chair; Robert Brandt, Clerk, George Dunnett

Foreman: Brian Benoit

Department Manager: Thomas Petraska Department Counsel: Matt Bloomer

Commissioner Baitz called the meeting to order at 11:05 A.M.

Commissioner Brandt began with a question for Attorney Bloomer regarding strategy for collective bargaining with the proposed union. Attorney Bloomer advised that the conversation would be appropriate for executive session.

Attorney Bloomer provided "a motion to find that premature general public knowledge of the Department Counsel's analysis of a legal issue would clearly place the Department at a substantial disadvantage because the Department will receive confidential attorney-client communications made for the purposes of providing professional legal services to the Department." Commissioner Brandt moved such motion. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Baitz. **The Commissioners voted 3-0 to approve the motion.**

Attorney Bloomer then provided "a motion to enter into executive session, with the inclusion of the Department Manager, Department Counsel and the Foreman." Commissioner Brandt moved such motion. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Baitz. **The Commissioners voted 3-0 to approve the motion.**

The Commission entered executive session at 11:10 A.M.

The meeting adjourned at 12:16 P.M.

The Commission exited executive session at 12:12 P.M. Commissioner Dunnett excused himself from the meeting at 12:13 P.M.

Commissioner Baitz made a motion to direct the Department Manager to indicate to the Vermont Labor Relations Board that the Department consents to the election related to IBEW 300's union petition seeking to become the exclusive bargain representative of certain employees of the Department. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Brandt. The Commissioners voted 2-0 to approve the motion.

Commissioner Baitz made a motion to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Brandt. The Commissioners voted 2-0 to approve the motion.

Respectfully submitted,	
	Nicholas Baitz, Chairman
	Robert Brandt, Vice Chair
	George Dunnett, Clerk